Reviews and Commentary

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

Maybe you don't want someone to tell you want to do or give you advice when you're feeling down and what you really want is just somewhere to vent and people to empathize with. And that's fine! It's important to have a place to do that. In fact, it's important that you take care of your own health (including mental health), before you do anything else.

But if I could add some unsolicited advice: one thing you may also begin realizing is that getting deeply angry or saddened over these issues (even if it's an appropriate response), doesn't necessarily help change them. It may be a starting point for some people (like yourself), but it alone won't address the situation. If you find yourself slipping into anxiety or depression over this issue, you should speak to a doctor or psychiatrist, or at the very least, realize that some action or perspective you're taking may not be helpful to you.

Now, I'm not just saying this to scold or to push you for having a moment for yourself. I'm also saying it, because taking action does something to fix the emotional fallout some experience, *too*. It gives you a sense of purpose and agency over the problem. If you feel like it doesn't make sense, you can say to the world "You know what? This doesn't make sense! None of it! And I'm not going to pretend it does, because I know better now, and I wish I had known sooner.", and work to stop it from continuing to happen unchallenged for others in the future.

There are many forms of activism, small and large, subtle or outspoken, that you can try if you want to, and if you have the right mindset (don't get caught up in expecting immediate results or praise from anyone, always keep in the back of your mind that you're doing what you're doing for the animals, and it can help you persevere through a lot) they can indirectly help you overcome feelings of helplessness or confusion, because you'll know that you're doing something about it, slowly chipping away at it in your own way.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

What the health did that to my wife and I. We watched it 2 weeks ago and the next day only pick out foods we already had that were vegan, the rest was straight meat, which we fed to our dog, and the rest was imitation food that went in the trash.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

It's not really such a commitment. I mean, if they don't live in a food desert, it's not asking that much. There are people in nowheresville Alabama that are vegan.

It can be a challenge, but once you get into a rhythm it's no problem at all. What I'm saying is don't buy into people's bullshit excuses. For most it just comes down to being selfish, and it's unacceptable. I can sympathize with certain challenges, but I never condone non vegan eating.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I know how you feel, sometimes I get so sad thinking about the animals who had a horrible life from the moment they were born, and then I ate them. Just like that, their journey ended in my stomach. It makes me sick. It's ok though, we were just doing what we thought was normal. And people project onto you like you're crazy because they can't handle the truth of it all and what they're doing.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

It’s so frustrating. I was talking to an omni friend trying to explain my choice. I was holding my puppy on my lap and I said “Cows and pigs feel pain just like he does”. Her reply was “Yeah but it’s their purpose to be food so who cares”.

I didn’t even know what to say to that. It’s so frustrating that people just can’t open their minds to the idea that you don’t NEED animal products to live a healthy life.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

We fed the turkeys platters of veggies and fruits, and fed the pigs pumpkins!!

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

Wow, it’s vegan Jesus

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

Have been a vegan 7 years now after mostly vegetarian -- switched for the same reasons you are and don't regret it a bit! My spouse feels the same way, and not even my once dairy-loving kids will touch meat, eggs or dairy anymore. We all think it's gross now.

Recommended substitutes: Chao, Miyokos and Daiya cheeses (including Daiya cream cheeses). Just Mayo and Just Ranch instead of regular mayo and ranch dressing. My favorite plant-based milk is Ripple. Earth Balance tubs instead of dairy butter, and Earth Balance sticks instead of butter sticks for baking. Ben and Jerry's nondairy instead of dairy ice creams. Nut or soy-based yogurts.

It's true that these may not all taste as good as dairy and egg products at first, but you will come to prefer them over time. I loved cheese as much as anyone, and I can't even stand the taste when I accidentally get some dairy cheese now. Your tastes will change so much! And waiting a while for your tastes to change is a whole lot easier than being a spent dairy cow facing the captive bolt gun and her neck slit open. Watch undercover dairy and egg videos if you ever feel tempted.

As for the ridicule, well, that just comes with anything positive. The first people to say smoking will kill people? To say seat belts should be mandatory? To say women should have the right to vote or children shouldn't have to work? To say no one should be enslaved? To say gay people should be able to marry?

There's a giant pile of shit between current suffering and injustice and a better world. Every time one of us gets some shit thrown at us, the pile get smaller -- and the better tomorrow all the closer to reality.

So be prepared to take some shit for being an ethical leader, for being different, for speaking the truth for those who have no voice. And take it proudly, because it's the price to pay for being awesome and effecting positive change in this world. :)

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I was vegetarian for a few years before going vegan. The social pressures didn't really change, the same people who gave me a hard time for being vegetarian made no distinction between vegetarian and vegan.

The hardest part is that it's way easier to find vegetarian food than it is to find vegan. It will help that you have a lot of experience as a vegetarian first.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I was lucky enough to be surrounded by very supportive people when I transitioned but I think referring to your diet as 'plant-based' helps a lot of the stigma especially if you've been vegetarian for a while. I find the biggest challenge for transitioning is thinking It'll be challenging, you'll find it being way easier than you thought and after a while you'll be hard pressed to see yourself go back. best of luck!

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

Milk alternatives are easy. You have a plethora of (non-irish) plant based milks available to you.

Cheeses, there are plenty of. The hit and misses are more prevalent in the vegan range but that is because there are far fewer options available. In my omni days, I could not count the number of bland cheeses I have had, and I should say a lot better ones. But that was because there's a lot more of them.

Egg wise, a lot of recipes don't need egg. Cakes and desserts can have flax seed or bananas as an alternative. Granted I have not found a successful Yorkshire pudding recipe yet. Somethings just aren't that eggy yet.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

Do it! You absolutely can. We're all going to die, but we don't all have to drag a train of suffering with us to that moment.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I am also a Buddhist vegetarian turned vegan <3

For a very specific answer, I found the guilt of doing unskillful moral actions is harder to manage during meditation than the awkwardness that other meat eaters make you feel.

Metta friend :)

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

My then girlfriend took it really bad when when I presented my choice to eat vegetarian without involving her in my decision process. She wasn‘t very open minded though.

My mother adapted her cooking after I was vegan for a while and either made vegan extra portions or at least let me prepare my part of the meal separately before adding animal products.

Good luck!

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

> I’ve learned that the dairy industry and egg industry are no better than meat industries.

This was the big realization for me. It isn't that they are no better it is also that they are just as much a part of the meat industry. There is no separation. The dairy industry is the meat industry.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

You’re awesome! Of course it is the right thing to do. My advice is to be strong in your beliefs. You don’t believe in harming animals, and eggs and dairy harm animals.

Make them delicious vegan food so they find it harder to complain

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I was a vegetarian for about 6 years before going vegan, and the treatment does change a little. I still got a lot of jokes made about me as a vegetarian, but then people would generally accept it. People are much more... confused.. about veganism. I got a lot more questions than anything, but i don’t mind answering them! I think that the best way to combat the questions and/or ridicule is to educate yourself as best as you can and work on good techniques for responding. A calm, rational, well thought out response to their illogical ridicule will usually shut them up.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I went vegan a year ago on the back of being mostly vegetarian. Back then for health reasons.

I just told people I'm testing it out to see if I feel better for a month, and after that was true, I told them I had no reason to switch back. I only introduced them (and myself) to the ethics later.

As for the awkwardness. Yes. It was awkward, but the people around you will adjust relatively quickly, especially if you're willing to help them out (for example cooking vegan meals).

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

Ah, I get it. They're trying to appeal to the whole "Did you know Native Americans used every part of the cow?" mentality.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

Oh good, thanks for the reminder of stuff I need to google before buying!

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

What? Why? I'm sure we can use other sources for this stuff.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

And yet all ethically wrong. What I'm not sure if there's a vegan alternative for all of them.

Note: the lack of an alternative doesn't justify anything if it's unnecessary.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I’ll never understand how this stuff doesn’t just absolutely gross non-vegans out

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

How do I torture thee?

Let me count the ways...

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I haven't made cinnamon rolls in so long! It's too dangerous to leave them around me lol

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

What recipe did ya use?

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

works best if you just combine it with a tbsp of coconut oil and eat it raw lol, your body knows what to do with it :]

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

My uncle makes his cannabutter with coconut oil. It's real nice. :-D

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

If you have psoriasis please try this.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

Hey guys, I just finished my 3rd video, in which I demonstrate how to make some coconut cannabis oil. Let me know what you think, I'm always open to any contructive critisism or advice on how I can make these even better in the future. I tried to make this as short and as easy to follow as possible. I improved the visibility on the captions since the last video, thanks to some of your comments. Enjoy!

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

So awesome! When I just saw the headline, "Fox Sports talking about the Beyond Burger", I was like oh no, here we go. I was so pleasantly surprised when I opened it and looked at the screenshot! If it can happen on Fox Sports, it can happen anywhere! Veganism ftw

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

THIS. This is the kind of news we need.

Meat eaters calling a vegan burger a burger and loving it. This is just gorgeous.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

My husband and I are new to veganism and for ~some reason~ I got it in my head that Cookie Butter isn't vegan. I saw your post, did a quick search, and got to squeal at my husband that Cookie Butter is a go. Yay! So excited!

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I am currently eating the cheddar squares as I type this post lol

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

HOT CHOCOLATE CLIFF BARS ARE WERE ITS ATTTTT

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

That all looks so good! Where are the PB&J bars from? Never seen them and they look interesting.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

Also peppermint marsh mellows?! WHAT A TIME TO BE ALIVE

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

Dear lord, the Dandies! All of the Dandies!

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

How do those vegan cheddar squares taste? Are they any good?

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I think it probably has to do with the fact that people frequently confuse gluten free and vegan. They're often lumped together, yet completely different things

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

Really? That's kind of alarming to me, that they wouldn't know what's in their food to that extent. I thought everyone has made dough at least once or seen someone else do it, or at least read the packaging on some of the foods they buy. How is it possible to be misinformed that badly?

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I still get asked this too. "Do you eat bread?" and "I would miss pasta too much if I went vegan" - and I just look at them like... wut?

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

Something I hear sometimes that sorta breaks my heart is "I miss bread/pasta/chocolate so bad!" from new vegans! 'Course, then I get to spill the good news. :P I met someone once who had been avoiding peanut butter because she thought it had dairy in it...

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I've been vegan for two years and I still can't believe soft pretzels are vegan (without a butter glaze).

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

However, I had to look through 6 different brands of bread a few days ago until I found some that was vegan. Most contained milk or honey. I've started usually baking my own simple 5 ingredient bread to by-pass the honey that is unfortunately in most of Trader Joe's bread :/

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I've seen plenty of packaged breads with milk and/or honey in it. If I'm trying a new brand of bread, I always check the label.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

Oh, yeah. The amount of times I've been eating out and ask what's vegan-friendly on the menu, and the FIRST question they ask is, "Can you eat gluten?" Yes! I love gluten! Gimme those carbs!

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I have the opposite problem, where people are like "What's not vegan about chocolate chip cookies??" And I'm like uh... milk, eggs, butter.....

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

People are most likely misunderstanding the definition of veganism, rather than people thinking that bread is made out of animals. Veganism, as a health trend, is usually accompanied by going gluten-free, leading people to infer that vegans are gluten-free.

Sun, 11/19/2017 - 23:56

I stopped eating bread mostly because it's damn near impossible to find any that are actual bread (whole grain, salt, yeast, water) instead of some kind of weird chemical concoction.